images.jpgMy last time running 3/4ths of a mile and I cut 20 more seconds off! I ran it in 8:21. Yea, I think I’m becoming a runner! Now we need to up it to a mile.

Are you kidding me, a mile, I can’t run a mile. I don’t even know the last time I ran a whole mile. Besides who would just and go run a mile for fun? Apparently I would. It was not fun! But I completed it. It wasn’t my best time either. Remember, at one time I did run a mile in 7:40. I finished this mile in 11:39. Almost 4 minutes more than what I had at one point. But that was my best time, EVER. And I hadn’t gone through a pregnancy AND a cesarean. So we’ll take it, for now. At least I ran the whole mile!

But what’s this, the scale hasn’t gone down? I’ve been running for 2 1/2 weeks now. Doing more exercise than I have done in a very long time. What the heck??! But I’m not going to give up. I told myself I had to do this for at least a month. I still have 1 1/2 weeks left.

My running partner is doing really well too. We’ve been running at the same pace and keeping each other going. But we really are stepping it up over the next 2 weeks. The next time I run the mile I add 4 seconds. Hmmm, what’s going on? Well it has been really humid and I think my body has caught on that we were doing this and is starting to protest. Let alone did I add those seconds, my back is killing me and my knee is sore. And now we have to run 1.25 miles next.

We added half a mile to our total distance this week. And we decided to run on a different course other than our trusty track because foot races are never on a track. Unless you’re running for a school. So we take our last run for the week over to a local park. We estimate roughly where 1.25 miles would end us. Later I take my Garmin over and walk the course to map it out. We actually ran 1.35 miles. And we had completed it in 15:00. Yea, a little farther than our distance and under our 3 minute/quarter time allotment!

Next week we’ll be starting at 1.5 miles and ending it with a 2 mile run. AHHHHHHH!

