images.jpg

I chose to run. And I will take you through my pain, misery, disappointments and triumphs while trying to reach my goal. Finishing a 5k.

In the beginning of July I decided to start training for a 5k, 3.1 miles. I am not a runner, nor was I ever. I played sports in high school but I always played more defensive positions that weren’t as mobile. But I am far from being in the shape I was so many years ago. At my best, I completed a mile in 7 min. 40 sec. I have been walking over the past few months but no more than 3 times a week. And usually at a pace between 3 – 3.5 mph. Some may be thinking why? Why would I want to run? Basically I’m going from a couch to running, am I crazy? Well some days I think I am!

There are a few reasons why. I need to get healthy and lose weight. I would like to set a good example for my child possibly children. I don’t want to be the ‘fat’ mom, I want to be the MILF. Not that I would ever, and I repeat, ever do anything with my children’s friends. It’s just a way of saying I want to be the pretty mom. And my weight fluctuations throughout my life have shown that I am prettier when I am thinner. I’m not talking beanpole here, just being at an average normal weight. But all of this is for another post, another day. Another reason is because I want to feel a sense of accomplishment. I do not get that at my current job. My job is ongoing and it could take years until I ‘accomplish’ something. So some days I feel like no matter what I do, I can’t win. Therefore I need to do find something else to have a feeling of accomplishment, and sooner than years worth of time. Racing. And not necessarily racing to win, just racing to finish and beating my own personal records.

I did some research and I found a schedule that is supposed to have me ready within 3 months. ‘How To Run A 5k In 3 Months If You’ve Never Run Before’ Apparently if I follow this I should be ready to run a 5k even if I’ve never ran before. So I decide to use this training schedule and I plan out my next 12 weeks of running and pick my race. I found a race that wasn’t too far from my hometown and was for a good cause. I will be running a race to support further research for Melanoma Cancer. Now all I had to do was start running.

Well, not so quick here. I need some apparel first. Just a few things to ‘help’ me run better. I went out and got running shorts. Basically bike shorts that helped suck in my fat under my ‘real’ shorts. I hate when shorts ride up in-between the thighs. Tight shorts under regular shorts help that. I got a running ‘shirt’. I needed something cool to match my ‘real’ shorts. Of course a sports bar. The one I own was bought well before my pregnancy and nursing years and when I was quite a few pounds lighter. Let’s just say we’re saving that one for later. A watch. I needed a stop watch. This isn’t about time right now but I do need to be able to know where I am so I can compare in the future. And last, but not least, a new pair of sneakers. The last time I bought sneakers were . . . . ummm. . . . well. . . . yeah, they’re that old. I think I’m one of the few females out there that are not addicted to shoes. Believe it or not, there are some of us out there. And let’s just say, the most I think I ever paid for a pair of shoes were for someone’s wedding and that’s because they had to be dyed too. I was pissed about that because they were freakin purple and I never wore them again. My most expensive shoes were ones that I wore once!! And the couple got divorced in 6 months. Again, another story for another day.
So I invested in a GOOD pair of running shoes. I ended up with a pair of Asics. I went to an athletic store and spoke with some one knowledgeable who really knew what they were talking about! And he didn’t ‘talk’ me into the most expensive pair either, he worked with what I needed within my budget!

I happened to mention to a friend about my plans and she wants in to. So now I have a running partner, my running outfit and my running schedule. Alright, now it’s time to run. No excuses.

